Day 3: “One-Night-Harley”

It was a beautiful day today, I was in my car listening to 311 on my way to work when this sexy car speeds up to check me out and in an instant cuts me off to get to the light ahead of me.  Naturally, I was intrigued.  Sexy car = Sexy guy.  I watched him look back through his driver side mirror and of course, it was One-Night-Harley!  Don’t think that this is fate bringing back an ex, my exes are everywhere… it’s easy when you date all the good-looking men in this town.

One-Night-Harley caught my eye in a bar which led to a one night stand, which led to a two month relationship.  This bar is now forbidden Veronica Graham entry because of the number of One-Night-Someones I’ve met there.  My friends refuse to take me there.  Harley was charming, young, great looking- biker guy with style.  During our two month “relationship,” I met his family (and they loved me, but what’s not to love?), great sex (yes, on the Harley- yes, the bike), and I hated his best friend.  I knew there was no future with One-Night-Harley and I was already planning an escape route, but before I could execute the plan, he had the nerve to dump me!  Why did he dump me?  Because of the three simple words:  I love you.  Obviously, I didn’t mean it- I couldn’t stand the asshole!  I just wanted to leave him first and like a wild animal smelling fear- I could sense he was going to dump me.

Why in God’s name would someone say I love you to someone you were planning on leaving?  It’s the last resort.

I’m the kind of girl that like to shop before she drops.  I hate being alone.  I hate it now and always hated it- let’s just call it a child issue and leave it at that.  This isn’t Dr. Phil for crying out loud.  I wanted a new target- the problem was that nothing (no one) was quite in style yet and therefore, I wasn’t ready to have Harley totally filter out, just on his way… slowly.

The “relationship” with Harley was over.  Dead.  I knew it, I was just hoping he wouldn’t quite yet.  If it wasn’t dead for him yet- it was when I said I Love You.  He gasped and had the look of terror in his eyes before babbling, “Uh…. I’m not looking for a relationship…”  Oh Really??!!  I guess the Christmas plans with his family changed!

OK, so why did I want to follow One-Night-Harley when I saw him again today?  Fate?  I was meant to?  He was checking me out and that’s a clear invitation?  He contacted me not too long ago and I forgot (ok, too pissed) to respond?

Yes, yes, yes, yes, yes.   <— that’s my problem.

But I didn’t and I went to work and life goes on.  Except that I’m here still thinking about him, Mr. Failed Relationship # 723929

I’m afraid it’s only Day 3 and I’m worried what will happen- when One-Night-Harley isn’t the person I see on Day 100, but it’s Mr. The Love of my Life that Got Away…

Here’s to 363 Days- Veronica Graham, fast cars get fast girls-

Comments are closed.

