Day 40: “The Beastie Boys and Throwing Up”

Today I was sick- really sick.  I went to the doctor to figure out what the hell was going on with me- my stomach was in fifteen different types of pain and I couldn’t stop throwing up.  Turns out:  I smoke too many cigarettes, eat fatty foods, drink on an empty stomach, and live off of caffeine.  I guess this combo on top of not eating well balanced meals or exercising caused my stomach to freak out on me today.  I’ve had various instances when my health was in jeopardy.  I only stopped doing cocaine for a year now– well, almost a year now.

I still think about cocaine like a bad relationship.  I stopped heavy cocaine use about two years ago and it’s been about a year since I’ve gone back for a booty call.

Obviously, it’s no secret that I don’t take care of my body as well I should.  You’d figure needing to go to the doctor from coke would have been enough to get me away from it, but it didn’t… About 5 years ago when I went to The Beastie Boys concert with a random car dealer that I just bought my new car from and got a little carried away in the drug use.  The Beastie Boys concert was AWESOME! Coke, Weed, and Alcohol!  After the concert, I was running through the bushes and got yelled at by security for trying to sneak on to the tour bus.  The people I left with left me alone and I went to a friend’s house.  Once I got there, an illness hit me like a tidal wave- I was throwing up everything in my stomach- every hour on the hour- it would happen and this continued until I had to go into work the next morning.  My boss told me I needed to go to the hospital and by then I felt so weak I could hardly drive myself.  I made my way to the ER and I was hooked up to an IV from dehydration.  The nursed asked me why I did so many drugs and all I could say was, “I don’t know…”

Later that day, I went home and kept my hospital visit a secret for a while.

So, now I’m sick again for just leading an unhealthy lifestyle in my everyday life.  Drugs aren’t involved anymore, but I do smoke a lot of cigarettes and drink without eating first- in fact, I tend to replaced meals with a drink because it’s easy and it curbs my appetite.  I guess all these years of drug use could have weakened my body so it’s less resilient now.  I mean, a lot of people out there lead an “on the go” lifestyle, right?  I guess because I did so much damage throughout the years, I need to be more cautious now of how I treat my body in order to allow it to heal.  Hell, I can’t even go outside on a high pollen day without my nose hurting.

So, I’ve started… I’m going to give up smoking too… or really really try to and rest up cause this bitch has a date tomorrow night and I don’t want to be in a bad mood from all this illness crap.

Here’s to 326 Days, Veronica Graham, I can’t wear tight belts either, the doctor says, damn, what am I going to wear???

Leave a Reply

