Day 123: “My First Earthquake”

It was a day like any other, waking up to the sound of my stepmom, ahem step-monster running through the house like a meth head and rearranging all the furniture (she does this a lot). I took a break from writing and decided to take a shower.  I couldn’t have been in the tub for more than a few minutes before it started to rock back in forth ever so slightly, at first I thought GOD? Is that you, aww shit, I’m sorry for everything…guess this is it for me, OR I’ve been possessed by the dark side and am seeing shit as if I were shrooming. Last but not least, I thought my stepmom was doing some intense renovations in the house because I saw her painting in my dad’s office earlier, maybe she was really putting some elbow grease into her work. I quickly realized that this tub shaking wasn’t normal and I turned off the shower, hopped out, put on a robe, and ran downstairs. I have yet to talk about my step monster in this blog, but I will…trust me, she’s not exempt. I believe in the saying “Save the best for Last”.

When I got to the bottom of the stairs, my stepmom aka step-monster looks at me with a phone in her hand (the earthquake had just stopped) and she said “Oh, I didn’t know you were still here I was hiding in the closet with water downstairs, that was an earthquake…are you okay?” Are walls are paper thin and you can hear everything, it’s not a mansion. Secretly, I think she hoped I would fall through the foundation, blame my death on the earthquake and claim to have not heard a thing because her hearing is slightly impaired (yeah right). I wish I could believe that what she said was true, but I don’t since I said “Hi” to her around noon, and saw her painting. She usually starts talking about the most random things after I see her, I just walk away because she likes to push my buttons ALL the time. I think she gets off on it. In case you can’t tell, we don’t like each other. So we play the “let’s ignore each other until dad comes home” game. When he is around we pretend for his sake, that we care about each other.

Later on, Kimmie and I went to Whitney’s for the “Aftershock Party”. We had a great time drinking wine and eating food. I was glad to see that no one was hurt and happy to be with both of them drinking like a fish. I had a little too much to drink, but thats normal for me. Before I picked up Kimmie for the dinner party…Whitney and I had a great conversation about what it means to be a “true friend” versus a “fair weather friend”.  I explained that I was in the process of evaluating my relationships with people in general, and I want to be sure that I’m putting my energy into the right people. I found out that I had hurt her feelings in one of my entries and I had to explain where I was coming from because she matters to me. In my opinion, it’s normal to test the spirit in other people to understand what their motives are, how they fit into your life, why they are in it, and if they should even remain.

My life is slowly changing for the better and I want to know that the people in my corner are the right ones. This filtering process will allow me to concentrate on making those few who I do want in my future a priority. It’s important for me to know that THEY know I’m loyal to them. I think my bond with Whitney is closer now than ever because we were able to hear each others point of view, and now we can grow from it. 

Heres to 243 days, Veronica Graham- Only a slut would be naked during an earthquake-

One Response to “Day 123: “My First Earthquake””

  1. I just spent two hours reading your blog so I feel I should at least say thank you. Your problems are so different from mine but somehow I feel like I can relate. I hope you are still doing well in your quest to respect yourself.
    -Tim

Leave a Reply

