Day 139: “Me and The Weasel”

I’m a little sick of the all the rain were having, and drinking didn’t seem appealing after I got off my shift at the Irish bar. I decided to go home to watch Bio-Dome, eat hummus with pita bread, and think about how much of an idiot I was for sleeping with Mr. Nice. When I was growing up Pauly Shore was one of my favorite actors, and I love to watch his films when I’m feeling depressed (thanks a lot RAIN) and reminiscent of my childhood. Mother Graham was pretty strict about not letting my sister and I do anything that didn’t involve Jesus. However, she had a soft spot for Richard Gere, Mike Myers and of course my favorite…Pauly Shore.

We had a VCR (it was a big deal once upon a time), but we had limited movies. I specifically remember owning Wayne’s World, Son-in-Law, Pretty Woman and Aladdin. My sister and I would watch them over and over and over and over again. I remember the Christmas when MG managed to save up enough money to buy my sister and I matching Aladdin blankets, the Aladdin video game for Super Nintendo, and of course bought me the Aladdin doll because I was the oldest. This might explain why I thought it was cool to be a slut in Cali, why my humor is weird yet contagious, and why I have a fetish for Arab men. Then again, maybe not.

In the film Bio-Dome Bud (Pauly Shore) and Doyle (Stephen Baldwin) accidently end up trapped in the Bio-Dome for a year as part of a science experiment that they weren’t supposed to be a part of. In the midst of their adventure Bud and Doyle almost ruin the dome because they failed to see the importance of the project. However, once they see how important it is to save what they almost destroyed they end up hero’s at the end of the film and get their girlfriends back.

I’m aware that I could have derailed and fallen into Slut-land once more after sleeping with Mr. Nice, and most of all I see the steps that led up to the sextastic time I had. My life isn’t a movie, but what I got form watching this flick was that once you fully understand what you’re committed to, the end results can be magical. I will never be a goody two shoes kinda girl or join a convent, but if I stick to what I set out to do for the remainder of the 365 days…I can evolve into a better version of me.

Here’s to what could have been 227 Days, Veronica Graham, Last I heard…My Aladdin blanket still exists and is being held hostage by MG-

Leave a Reply

