Day 140-141: “2 Weddings and a Mohawk”

I spent my Friday preparing for two weddings that I had lined up on Saturday, and I was scurrying all around town to get last minute necessities. As a makeup artist you never know what someone is going to need….SOooo I bring everything I can think of. I got fresh flowers for the first wedding as a hairstyle option and picked up last minute items such as bobbi pins, hairspray, false lashes and cotton balls. My first wedding was at the Marriott Wardman Park in DC and the other was at the W. My morning started at 4:30am and by the time I got home I was physically and mentally exhausted. Being a makeup artist and creating interesting up do’s fulfill my creative itch, and I can’t stress enough how much I love it! A rush surges over my brain every time I get to do hair or makeup.

I was excited that one of the women wanted a trendy-yet-conservative-mohawk….it was my first time creating this look but I did the best I could and she rocked it in a long empire dress! I also got to do a glamour look with jewels in one of the up do’s, and bust out my favorite hairstyle “Flower Bun.”  In this profession I’m noticing what role I need to take on to be successful, and that role is a caretaker with a magicians attitude. In case you haven’t heard, I have magical brushes that enhance the natural beauty of individuals, and a tide stick in my pocket that I’m not afraid to use.

As the years have past I’ve noticed that the people I have worked with feel safe in my chair, and that makes me feel special and appreciated. I’ve heard it all, and give free advice to those willing to listen. I’m not sure how reliable my advice is, but I’m diplomatic in my approach. I even had a client insist that I stay for dinner after a bridal trial once, it was the best damn eggplant parmesan I’ve ever had. I’m slowly but surely learning what is means to be a freelance makeup artist, and I want to share what I have learned this year:

Helpful Hints for Freelance Artists:

1. Always send an invoice or make a hand written receipt for services rendered, ALWAYS…

2. When it comes to doing business with friends and it’s time to pay, instead of saying “I trust you” get it to me when you can…hand them the bill after applying a discount to it. Don’t feel guilty about charging, it’s just business.

3. When your being screwed over…there is no need to curse and act a fool, just keep a mental note to never do business with them again.

4. Always maintain control of your emotions.

Here’s to what could have been 226-225 Days, Veronica Graham, P.S. If you ever stay at the Marriott Wardman Park, the main lobby is on the 8th floor…thats all I’m saying.

One Response to “Day 140-141: “2 Weddings and a Mohawk””

  1. Awesome!! I would absolutely LOVE to get my long hair into that conservative-Mohawk style! How did you do that??

Leave a Reply

